UEFA Sanction Last 18 Seconds to be Replayed

Super_horns

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
8,601
Reaction score
904
Points
113
Supports
WATFORD
I presume its more to do with the fact this ref didn't know the rules than just making an error of judgement over a penalty decision etc...

Agreed if it was just based on was it a penalty or not rather than the ref just failing to understand the rules then it would lead to chaos.

I would ask - what were the assistants doing?
 
Last edited:

Gashead

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
1,079
Reaction score
330
Points
83
Supports
Bristol Rovers
All a bit weird - how do you prepare for a situation like that? Even the opposition goalkeeper! Have to warm-up, get kitted, only to find that you're playing 10 more seconds and then you're back off again!
 

last request

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2015
Messages
2,387
Reaction score
678
Points
113
Supports
Aston Villa
Bit of a side note - is the rule really that if the defending team encroaches on a PK, it's retaken? Surely if it's scored the goal should stand, and it's only retaken if the pen is missed, otherwise you are rewarding the team that encroached. Wouldn't shock me though if Fifa/Uefa have a messed up rule though.
 

blademan89

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2015
Messages
9,237
Reaction score
2,507
Points
113
Supports
sheffield united
Bit of a side note - is the rule really that if the defending team encroaches on a PK, it's retaken? Surely if it's scored the goal should stand, and it's only retaken if the pen is missed, otherwise you are rewarding the team that encroached. Wouldn't shock me though if Fifa/Uefa have a messed up rule though.

Im guessing its the team who scored the pen whos players encroached.
 

Munkiki

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2015
Messages
1,700
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Norwich
Supports
Norwich City
Bit of a side note - is the rule really that if the defending team encroaches on a PK, it's retaken? Surely if it's scored the goal should stand, and it's only retaken if the pen is missed, otherwise you are rewarding the team that encroached. Wouldn't shock me though if Fifa/Uefa have a messed up rule though.
If the defending team encroaches and the penalty is scored, the goal stands. If the defending team encroaches and the penalty is saved/missed, it's retaken.
 

last request

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2015
Messages
2,387
Reaction score
678
Points
113
Supports
Aston Villa
Ah good, my faith in FIFA is restored.....sort of : /

Was just the article on the bbc about this using incorrect phrasing then.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
15,703
Messages
1,038,394
Members
6,177
Latest member
Victoria_rt331
Top
CleverNT: 53154 Visits Devices Code Obs Start: 2021-09-01 End: 2021-09-30